top of page

Math Sequence to Saxon-RC Compatible

Updated: May 12, 2022

Robinson Curriculum (RC) focuses on mastering math facts of all operations and once accomplished moving into the Saxon math books beginning with Saxon 5/4. For me, I would have liked to have more inspiration for how to get there. Through my own experience I created a few resources and curated a few more to round out a home school resource list that acts as a ladder to math fact mastery and beginning the first Saxon book. I uploaded this Free Math Sequence (includes links to all resources) in my Teachers Pay Teachers store, Land of Kakiak. Below is a picture of it. Grade levels are approximate and of course there are other resources that could be substituted for what I've linked but this is what we actually used.

Here are some visuals of what the list entails. Let's start with Preschool. Shown are an abacus, counting sticks, homemade flashcards, and Number Stories Book 1. The Number Stories books can be found for free to print as a pdf so that is the link I've provided in the Math Sequence document but you can also find original books if you look around Ebay, Amazon and the like.

Moving on to Kindergarten. Shown below are First Year in Number, Bonded Numbers and Fact Families of 10, math cubes, and Number Stories Book 2.

What do we use in First Grade? I follow the Robinson Curriculum Math Flashcard Guide to begin learning math facts. I also have my students do the first 10 lessons of Ray's New Primary Arithmetic but I have them do it in a Numbers and Figures Packet I created (it's free in our Facebook group if you're a member). For more details on math facts see my blog post on it here.

Play money is always a hit with our kids to play store and practice the maths. I also created an Addition & Subtraction Workbook that is meant to be a compliment to the flashcard guide addition and subtraction sections so they could be used together.

In first grade we moved quickly through addition and subtraction and began our Multiplication Workbook. We use a lot of Memory Pyramids when learning to memorize skip counting.

If Multiplication has been mastered I will move on to the Division Workbook in Second Grade. I would note that the Multiplication and Division Workbooks can be printed and used simultaneously if you wish to teach them at the same time. Once through the Division Workbook they should be ready to pick back up in Ray's New Primary Arithmetic. I like the story problems as they apply multiplication and division for an extra layer of thinking.

Third Grade, if math facts have been mastered, it's a good time to focus on speed and accuracy. The workbooks pages can be reprinted at any time to review or "test." They can also time themselves and try to break their personal record. I also love a good fun math day when the boys play a math game and call it a day every once in a while.

Whenever the child is ready the next step would be to take a Saxon Placement Test or simply start them in Saxon 5/4.


I hope if you were needing some direction or inspiration this has been a help. It helps me to line out my progression so I have a plan but I know I can change the plan if my students need it. Type A's, we just like to have a list, a plan, a goal...so we can sleep better but we can't let it rule us. I have a habit of once I write it down IT IS HAPPENING! I'm working on it, lol!


Follow us on Instagram!



249 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

תגובות


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page