top of page

Language Arts with RC-Grade 1 Reading & Handwriting

Updated: Feb 25, 2022

Each day is the same routine in our home school. Breakfast, vitamins, clothes, teeth, Bible, Math and then LANGUAGE ARTS, today's topic. Specifically, today, I'll share our method for reading and handwriting.


I started our home school journey with Abeka materials so when I decided to change to

Robinson Curriculum (RC) with my six year old I was a few steps into the literacy process. We had worked through a kindergarten curriculum which was basically a workbook and alphabet flashcards. We played a lot of YouTube videos from Jack Hartman's Kids Music Channel when introducing new letter sounds, sang a lot of ABC's, drilled the basic phonics flashcards and began Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons.




Those 100 Easy Lessons were a big boost. I highly recommend that program and plan to use it for my youngest as well. We kept doing the lessons through the summer and into the start of first grade. We were off to a great start but how to bridge into the RC method? I broke down the "reading and writing" subject heading required by my state into a list of more specific subjects and then I looked over what resources I had available to me through RC or easily at hand and forged ahead.


Subjects:

1. Reading

2. Handwriting

3. Spelling

4. Independent Reading


Reading moved smoothly from 100 Easy Lessons to the McGuffey Eclectic Readers. I would actually say the Primer was easier than what he had finished on in the lessons but I wanted him to get familiar with the series. I printed out the phonics flashcards and lesson plans from RC and we reviewed a few each day prior to Primer lessons. From the Primer we moved to the first reader. The method is simple.


1. First, the student reads the lesson (word list first) and I use any misreads as an opportunity to explain any spelling "rules" or patterns and pronunciation quirks as we go. I find names a good cue to explain what we capitalize. If I've already "taught" something like that I might ask, "Why is Bess spelled with a capital B?" Hopefully they'll say something like, "Because it's a name." "Yes, we capitalize names of specific people, places, and things. They are proper nouns." Then they read the story portion.


2. Next, I instruct the student to follow with their eyes and ears as I read it to them (so they can hear the correct cadence and inflections). I may point out new or review punctuation marks here. "What does this quotation mark mean?" "Someone is talking." "Right." It always feels good for them to have the opportunity to show what they know and have it acknowledged.


3. The student rereads the passage so I can check if they've got it. If not we repeat the process but I would only do this once as not to wear them out. We can always repeat the lesson the next day. If they are reading the passage fine we move on.


4. Last, I ask a few comprehension questions ."How many kids are in this story?" "What are their names?" "Where are they?" "What did they like?" "Is it hot or cold out?" "How could you tell?" If they don't know something I let them look back at the reading passage to find the answer.


Every once in a while I have us back up a few lessons and read three lessons in a row so they have the satisfaction of reading a longer passage well and it also serves as a review. Once the reading lesson is complete we move onto writing.


Handwriting began in 100 Easy Lessons with practicing forming the letters and learning to write their own name in preschool or kindergarten. For first grade I moved on to the handwriting practice sheets provided by RC and copy work for the McGuffey readers. There is a website where you can purchase copy work for the primer, first and second readers in pdf form and it's worked perfectly for us (Classical Copywork).

1. Handwriting sheets provided by RC is where we start. It was really fruitful to go through each line day by day and circle MY FAVORITE letter they did or circle areas to improve and then have them practice that fix. Star stickers for a complete and adequate job were a big incentive. The joy on their face for getting a star is priceless. I love taking the opportunity to tell them I'm proud of them "for making such a good R! I can't wait to show your dad when he gets home." Once that packet was completed we moved on to another set of cursive alphabet and word pages that I printed off from the Cursive Handwriting Workbook For Teens that I had purchased for my 10 year old and now we're on Cursive Handwriting Workbook for Kids; Jokes and Riddles. One page a day is plenty. This one is fun!

2. Copy work is done (it's very short) to the best of their ability. I require heading on each paper of name, date, and subject. I try to give the instruction "Sit up to the table, turn your paper to line up with your writing arm, hold the paper still with your left hand and check your writing hand to make sure you're holding your pencil correctly." I usually act it out myself as I give the instruction. Our oldest learned to write in public school and his handwriting is really atrocious (poor baby) and I have found his poor habits impossible to break so I am semi-fanatical about setting yourself up for success with proper ergonomics of writing.


3. Check the work with the student. I have my student stand at my shoulder while I check every single indent, capital, spelling, form, space and punctuation. I put a star on each item I am checking for. I started with just checking they formed the letter and words correctly and gently pointed out any missed punctuation but as they've responded to that feedback I'm checking more in detail. They love to see a bunch of stars on their paper that acknowledges all the things they got right! I don't use any formal grammar curriculum at this age, just my own basic knowledge.


4. Final approval is given if the initial copy work is acceptable and they get a star sticker on the top of the page and we're on to the next subject. If I'd like a rewrite or a few corrections I give it back for them to do and then recheck. If there is any balking at this I don't let it slide. "I expect a good attitude about the chance to fix your mistakes. We don't always get second chances at things in life. Be grateful. Education is a gift." I'm gradually raising the bar of what is acceptable work over time so that I don't think they even notice.


I am always trying to keep learning positive and joyful. If they'd like to draw a little picture on their copy work that goes along with the writing that is helpful too. Kids love to vent their creativity and I love providing simple ways for them to do that. Plus, I have my older student draw word pictures for vocabulary study and I think this is prepping them for that.


How ever do we get our kids to the RC booklist? Next posts I'll dive into what we do for spelling and independent reading. I hope you treasure these McGuffey's as much as we do! They are timeless and simple. Exactly what I was looking for.



Recommended (by me!) Materials:


1. Phonics & early handwriting: Teach your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons



2. Phonics flashcards and lesson plans: Provided by RC


3. McGuffey's Eclectic Readers: RC Provided or eBay, Amazon, etc...



4. Handwriting sheets: RC provided, Cursive Workbooks






5. Copy work: Based off McGuffey Readers-Classical Copywork



6. The Robinson Curriculum: https://www.robinsoncurriculum.com










68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2019 by Laurel Page. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page