top of page

Independent Reading & Summaries: 2 level options

Updated: May 15, 2022

Welcome to my schoolroom (formerly known as the living room). So much magic happens in these four walls and it usually starts with a book from the Robinson Curriculum (RC) reading list. Last night I had fun making little covers, printing and binding four Arthur Bailey books for my first grader. He liked The Tale of Jolly Robin so much I printed out four more stories from the shared files in the Robinson Curriculum Official Group Facebook Page. I also printed a G.A. Henty book for my fifth grader.

As I prepped for this week's new readings I felt really grateful for the wealth of resources we have at our fingertips now. Sometimes, it's so much it's even overwhelming. If God gave me a skill set I think it's the knack for simplifying, prioritizing, and streamlining. I enjoy setting my eyes on a destination and then plotting the journey. Let me tell you about two resources.


Besides the reading list RC has a goal of an essay a day. Early years focus on copywork. We do this with McGuffey Copywork. I don't want to add too much more to their plates but I was finding there was a lack of reading comprehension with my oldest so, I created a Book Notes & Summary Guide for him. I just print it out and distribute it with each new book and he hands everything in complete once done. I give some feedback and we do it all over again. It's been so helpful to us both.


Resource 1-Grades 3-5:

As it's worked so well for him I wanted to do something similar with my first grader. He has graduated out of his bridge books and has entered the RC reading list world. He really struggled with Life of George Washington (too boring for him I think) but he really enjoyed The Tale of Jolly Robin. The only problem was he remembered some things wrong. I decided to create a younger version of what I have my older son do. It is the Book Notes & Summary Comic Strip Guide. He's working his way through The Tale of Jolly Robin again using the new guide and it is going so much better!


Resource 2-Grades 1-2:

He draws his notes for each chapter. There is the option to caption his drawing. I've coached him to use words already in the book so he can just look back at them and work more independently but sometimes he may ask me how to spell something. No big deal. It's a great exercise for him and he's really excited to show me his summary comic strip when it's done. There is something about adding their own illustrations and colors that makes my boys' attention quadruple! They also love writing in the word and thought bubbles and sound effect noises. If you have a reluctant reader or writer perhaps this system could help.


Pro tip: Fold the bookmark/note page in half and use as a bookmark and clip the rest into the back of the book or keep someplace safe until they've finished the book.


I'm starting a new Instagram page for Land of Kakiak products. If you're interested in following find it here! Or be my friend in real life here and see all my food and house pictures too.

150 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page