top of page

Breakfast to the Rescue

I have found the best start to our homeschool morning is a simple breakfast. Currently, this is a snack plate. It's just the most efficient way for me to lure my children into the schoolroom, feed them, and start the ball rolling for school. Let me elaborate.


I am slooooooow in the morning. I need to make one, easy to clean up breakfast option while my coffee brews. I only have two hands so one holds my coffee, the other the loaded up snack plate. I leave mugs of poured milk in the fridge for my two youngest where they can reach and head to the schoolroom (previously our living room, see my post on that here) where I put out the spread (if it's very early still I cover with a tea towel) and start my day while I wait for the troops to roll in. If they are not assembled by 8 or 8:30 I go in search. I don't like to start later than 9 if I can help it.



Here is a list of my go to breakfast snack plate items. I try to have at least three items to nibble on.

  1. Fruit or berries: kiwi, grapes, pears, oranges, apple, banana, blueberry, strawberry, raspberry, blackberry...

  2. Nuts: almond or pistachio, sometimes a peanut butter spoon

  3. Naan bread with hummus and feta cheese (buy extra naan and keep in freezer)

  4. Deli meat or cured meat

  5. Boiled eggs

  6. Whole milk

  7. Cheese: Cheddar, String, Cottage

  8. Toast: Buttered, avocado toast, PB&J style or PB with sliced strawberries or banana and light honey.

  9. Keep granola bars on backup for when your groceries are running low. Only pull them out in case of emergency or else your kids will eat them ALL in a day or two.

We sometimes opt for oatmeal or baked goods, especially on cool days. Here are some of my favorite baked goody recipes. I try not to do these too often.



*note: I add a dried berry mix from Walmart to all but the biscuits and it is everyone's favorite. Shredded coconut is fab in oatmeal cookies and banana bread too. Our favorite frosting is powdered sugar, almond extract and water to desired consistency.


I make pancakes almost every Saturday or Sunday and I try to make lots of extra to stick in the fridge for breakfasts or snacks for a few extra days. When there is left over oatmeal I use it for muffins. I make a double batch of pretty much anything so I can cut my food prep time in half for the week. We love croissants with cream cheese and lemon curd. I am not in the mood to cook first thing in the morning but I can handle assembling some stuff that's already edible.


I also am a big quiche fan. I like to make it on Sunday and I usually make two so one can be eaten during the week. Here is a quiche recipe. We like to fill ours with ground sausage, onion, and cheddar. I 100% use store bought crust. I'm that kind of lady.



A summer treat we love is milk and honey over fresh berries. A sweet, cool treat any time of day really. Also, cups or small bowls of cottage cheese with peaches or pears over top. I usually just do canned. I'm not that bougie.



100% avocado and salt is the quickest meal I can make from scratch! He's smiling because I put a little honey in his warm milk.



Follow us on Instagram for more snack and homeschool ideas!


111 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page